Success Story: Patrick Frech – Marketing Internship at Rothenberger

Patrick Frech is a student at Regent’s University London studying the BA Hons Global Marketing Management degree at Regent’s Business School London (RBSL).

After working closely with the Careers and Business Relations team, he was successful in securing a marketing internship at Rothenberger AG headquarters in Kelkheim, Germany. Patrick shares his story with us…

I chose to study at Regent’s University London because it integrates students from diverse cultural backgrounds and its beautiful campus is situated in the heart of London’s most exquisite area. Its interactive teaching and support gives me the opportunity to learn new skills and further develop skills that I already possess.

I found the Careers and Business Relations team at one of the stands during Fresher’s Week. I grew up as a bilingual speaker in German and English, so it was important for me to have guidance for both UK and German applications. I received great advice on how to create a high standard CV and how I should best prepare myself for interview.

I sent my German CV to a family friend who used to work at Rothenberger and asked about possible internship opportunities in the marketing or product development department over the summer. He then contacted the Human Resources department, and after looking at my CV, they got in touch with me regarding a date for an interview.

I had several appointments with the Careers and Business Relations team where I was asked questions which were likely to come up in my interview and took part in a practise role play scenario to get used to answering questions under pressure. Thanks to Matthias Feist, I was very well prepared and had the appropriate answer to every question Rothenberger asked me during my interview.

 After attending the interview, I was immediately offered the internship in the marketing department at Rothenberger AG headquarter in Kelkheim, Germany. I carried out the six week internship in the summer of 2013. Without the genuine help and on-going support from the Careers and Business Relations team, I would not have been able to secure this internship.

By the end of the third semester at Regent’s Business School London, we are required to choose a pathway, so this internship played a very important role for me in order to decide whether or not I wanted to choose marketing as a global business pathway. I contributed in various tasks which included:

  • Working with the Product Information Management (PIM) database.
  • Translating several texts, such as press releases from German into English and vice versa.
  • Helped improve the website design using the content management framework for websites known as TYPO3.

My future objectives are to finish my BA Hons Global Marketing Management degree to a high standard and then move onto a master degree program somewhere abroad before looking for the perfect career path suited to my abilities.

To make an appointment with our expert Careers Advisors, contact us today!
Call us on: +44 (0)207 487 7419 or visit our office in Jebb 205.
Email: careers@regents.ac.uk
To find out the latest news and job opportunities daily:
Follow us on Twitter: @regentscareers
Like our Facebook page: www.facebook.com/rc.cbr
This entry was posted in Success Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

