Success Story: Maria Ruiz – Sales and Marketing Intern at BANG Showbiz

Maria Ruiz is an exchange student who has worked extensively with the Careers and Business Relations department and found and internship advertised on the Regent’s Vacancies Board. With the support of her Careers Advisor, Maria was successful in securing a Sales and Marketing internship at BANG Showbiz.

I came to study at Regent’s University London through an exchange programme that Regent’s has with UADE Universidad Argentina de la Empresa. I chose the course because I was interested in business, marketing and PR.

I was helped and guided on preparing my CV and cover letter, and also in how to approach a job interview by the Careers and Business Relations team. I also attended the LinkedIn seminar, which was very helpful for me as I was creating my account at that time. I found it vital to be prepared to enter the job market in the UK and in getting my internship. It was hard work for me as I am an international student and things in London are very different form Buenos Aires.

I was consulted by Veejay Mistry, she was very helpful and supportive. Particularly with everything related to my CV and how to research a company and how to address them. She was very clear and gave me very useful tips. Thanks to her advice I got the first internship I applied to. Moreover, I had sent 10 CVs and cover letters, and I got calls and interview offers from 5 of them.

For the internship role at BANG Showbiz I initially had a phone interview, after that, an interview at the office and finally I went to the office for a whole day.  After this process they offered me the internship.

I would advise students to look for guidance at the Careers and Business Relations office at Regents, prepare a good CV and be consistent on who you are and what you write in the CV. If I had my time again, I would look for an internship earlier, so I could get to choose between more options.

To make an appointment with our expert Careers Advisors, contact us today!
Book directly via CareerHub
Call us on: +44 (0)207 487 7419 or visit our office in Jebb 205.
Email: careers@regents.ac.uk
To find out the latest news and job opportunities:
Follow us on Twitter: @regentscareers
Like our Facebook page: www.facebook.com/rc.cbr
This entry was posted in Success Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

